Out of Line

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_filename_640

Do you
remember
when we
used to
dance for
hours in
the summer
darkness?

Hundreds
of hands
in the room
and yours
just happen
to find mine,
holding on
like you expect
me to save the
world as it
ends.

Why do
I always
have to
start the
conversation?
I know
it may seem
like nothing
but that small
fact matters
to me.

Take a shot,
sip a drink,
I’ll be your
poison for
tonight, a
venom
you’ll never
forget.

Your sober
memories
can’t even
muster the
thought of me,
yet your drunken
self wants to dance?
I’ll only
think about
us when
I’m hung-over,
hurt, and sick
the next morning.

The worst
part is that
now I can’t
write anymore
without thinking
of you.

Hey, maybe
the reason
this piece is
so scattered
and hopeful,
broken and
petrified, is because
that’s the way
I feel whenever
I talk to you.

I am so
fucking
sick of
thinking
that maybe
you’ll come
to me even
if you’re
not hurt,
but it never
happens.
I’m merely
the gullible
net that never
fails to catch
you if you step
a little too
out of line.

This is
so fucked up,
you know?
I like you,
find out
you like
someone
else, tell you
to chase
after her,
then present
myself as
a pillow
after your
big, bad
fall. I know
I’m not
just an
object,
but you gotta
stop being
an asshole
sometimes.

Why do
I always
fall in
love
with the
toxic ones?

Alright,
maybe
I’m the
idiot here.
But if
you really
loved me
like what
you say,
then why
do you
let me make
a fool out
of myself?

I miss
our intimacy.
We used
to talk about
the most
terrifying,
amazing
things.

Where
has all that
depth
gone to?
Did one
of us
accidentally
float up?
Didn’t we
promise
to sink
together?

Despite all
this bullshit,
and heartache,
I love you.
And I will
always try
to love you,
patiently,
painfully.

Leave a Reply

